Past Presidents

The following individuals have served as President of the American College of Epidemiology from 1982 to present. The President is an elected member of the Executive Committee and leads the Board of Directors of the College.

1982 Abraham M. Lilienfeld, MD, MPH Johns Hopkins University (Baltimore, MD)
1983 Dwight T. Janerich, PhD New York Department of Health (Albany, NY)
1984 Philip S. Brachman, MD Center for Disease Control (Atlanta, GA)
1985 Lewis H. Kuller, MD, DrPH University of Pittsburgh (Pittsburgh, PA)
1986 Michel A. Ibrahim, MD University of North Carolina (Chapel Hill, NC)
1987 Manning Feinlieb, MD, DrPH National Center for Health Statistics (Hyattsville, MD)
1988 Paul D. Stolley, MD University of Pennsylvania (Philadelphia, PA)
1989 Alfred S. Evans, MD, MPH Yale University (New Haven, CT)
1990 Raymond S. Greenberg, MD, PhD Emory University (Atlanta, GA)
1991 Patricia A. Buffler, PhD, MPH University of California (Berkeley, CA)
1992 Alan R. Hinman, MD Centers for Disease Control (Atlanta, GA)
1993 G. Marie Swanson, PhD, MPH Michigan State University (East Lansing, MI)
1994 Genevieve M. Matanoski, MD Johns Hopkins University (Baltimore, MD)
1995 Phillip C. Nasca, PhD University of Massachusetts (Amherst, MA)
1996 Michael B. Bracken, PhD, MPH Yale University (New Haven, CT)
1997 Sally W. Vernon, MA, PhD University of Texas (Houston, TX)
1998 Robert A. Hiatt, MD, PhD Kaiser Permanente (Oakland, CA)
1999 Dale P. Sandler, PhD NIEHS (Research Triangle Park, NC)
2000 Jonathan M. Samet, MD, MS Johns Hopkins University (Baltimore, MD)
2001 Richard A. Kaslow, MD, MPH University of Alabama (Birmingham, AL)
2002 Carol J. Rowland Hogue, PhD, MPH Emory University (Atlanta, GA)
2003 Carlos A. Camargo, Jr., MD, DrPH Harvard University (Boston, MA)
2004 Martha Linet, MD National Cancer Institute (Bethesda, MD)
2005 Betsy Foxman, PhD University of Michigan (Ann Arbor, MI)
2006 John Acquavella, PhD Amgen, Inc., Monsanto, CA
2007 Nancy Kreiger, PhD Cancer Care Ontario (Toronto, Canada)
2008 Roberta Ness, PhD University of Texas
2009 Lorann Stallones, PhD Colorado State University
2010 Faith G. Davis, PhD University of Illinois at Chicago
2011 Robert McKeown PhD University of South Carolina
2012 Edward J. Trapido, ScD LSUHSC School of Public Health
2013 Ross C. Brownson, PhD Washington University (St. Louis, MO)


Melissa Perry, ScD

Jonine Bernstein, MS, PhD

Harold I. Feldman, MD, MSCE
George Washington University

Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center   

University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine